Cabrini Distinguished Educator Award 2011

2011 Distinguished Educator Award Recipients:

Wendy DeMers, Hynes Charter School- nominated by Jade Bush'13 and Shanne Vignaud'12; Jeri Duthu, Immaculate Conception School- nominated by Brittany Garrison'14; Despina Fyssas, Lake Castle Private School- nominated by Courtney'14 and Tracy'12 Mai; Janine Jacomine, Our Lady of Prompt Succor School- nominated by Thea Dising'13; Meehan Murphy, St. Pius X School- nominated by Emma Bayer'14 and Sydney Steib'14; Elizabeth Steigman, St. Stephen Catholic School- nominated by Alana Dison'15.

Six elementary school teachers were named Cabrini Distinguished Educators at the school’s annual Distinguished Educators Convocation held on the Faubourg St. John campus.

Each recipient of the Distinguished Educator Award was nominated by a Cabrini student who has demonstrated outstanding character and holds a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. To nominate a teacher, each student wrote an essay about an elementary school teacher who impacted their lives in some way and how. A committee of Cabrini faculty and staff then reviewed the essays and chose the honorees for the award.

At the ceremony held in the Sacred Heart Chapel on the Cabrini campus, the nominating student presented her Distinguished Educator with the award, while excerpts of the nominating letter were read.  Following the convocation honorees and their family and guests along with members of the Cabrini administration and nominators enjoyed a reception in Alumnae Hall.