Cabrini Scholarship ReceptionTwo incoming Cabrini students, one current student, and one previously awarded scholarship student were recognized at the annual Academic Scholars Reception in Alumnae Hall.

Incoming pre-freshmen recipients of Cabrini Academic Scholarships for the 2017-18 school year include Sophie Brodtmann from Metairie who attends Atonement Lutheran School and May Yuratich of Slidell who attends First Baptist Christian School in Slidell. They were joined by Calley Chauvin of Luling a current Cabrini pre-freshman who is the recipient of a newly awarded scholarship for the 2017-18 school year. Calley entered Cabrini from Immaculate Conception School.  In addition to these three, Cabrini pre-freshman Sarah D'Antoni of St. Bernard was recognized for her 2016 award.


Students and their parents were welcomed by Principal Yvonne L. Hrapmann’76 and a presentation by junior Sofia Mangerchine on “What Cabrini Means to Me!.” Following the presentation of new scholarships, Cabrini President Jack Truxillo addressed the gathering.

Academic Scholarships are based exclusively on academic excellence and merit. The Academic Scholarship criteria are: Students must be present at Cabrini for placement test on Application Day; Students must earn a 90th percentile composite score on Cabrini's placement test; Students must have an elementary/middle school record of A/B work, acceptable conduct, and a record of regular attendance.

Scholarships are awarded to incoming pre-freshmen for 5 years and new or returning freshmen for 4 years. Recipients are required to maintain a 3.5 academic average and exemplary disciplinary standing at Cabrini to remain eligible for their scholarship.

Students attending the reception who were previously awarded Cabrini Academic Scholarships included freshmen Alina Bernadas of New Orleans, Sarah Conaway of Kenner, Brooke Cuccia of Metairie, Sara Upton of New Orleans, sophomores Elenora Bullock of Kenner, Sydney Ford of Metairie, Amber Pitre of Harahan, Maya Spears of New Orleans, Amy Vandercook of Gretna, juniors Phalyn LaBranche of Harvey, Sofia Mangerchine of Metairie, Amanda Soyez of Kenner, and senior Caroline Allen of New Orleans.

Click the photo to view a slideshow of the event!